Adjusting to Reality

I guess it’s only appropriate that my first post would be about getting back into the groove of daily life.

Long story, short: I ran my first marathon at the Walt Disney World Resort last weekend (January 13, 2013), and I spent the week following the race wandering around the theme parks. My family and I just flew in at 10:00pm last night. I didn’t fall asleep until about 1:15am.

I am tired.

I have been at work since 8:25am, and I am here until 4:30pm. There wasn’t much time to transition my mind and body from “vacation” to “reality.” So far, I think I’m doing okay. My grandma was nice enough to pack me a lunch for me to pick up on my short break, and eat back here at the office. There has been a steady flow of customers, and I’m enjoying my time catching up with my coworker.

I’m not sure how I’m going to handle the rest of the evening once I’m off work. Crawling into bed for a nap after work sounds amazing, since my body is still 3 hours ahead on Florida time. (It’s pretty much almost dinner time across the country…)

How do you adjust to reality and the drastic time change when you’re back home from vacation? Do you take a few days between coming home and going back to work to get back into routine, or do you jump right back into the daily grind?

(P.S. – Be on the lookout for my Walt Disney World Marathon recap!)

Leave a Reply

