Oakland Marathon Training – Week 1

Week of November 18 – November 24
Novice 1 Plan Mileage: 15 miles
Actual Mileage: 22.1 miles

Hi everyone!

Well, the first week of training was interesting, to say the least. I was doing well up until the 24th.

My training plan requires three weekly runs (Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays) and then long runs on weekends. I usually alternate the long runs on weekends based on any plans I might have.

This week, I needed to do 3 miles on all three weekday runs. I did those.

November 19, 2013

November 20, 2013

November 21, 2013

The short runs went really well. I ran at a very slow pace, roughly 13-14 minute miles.

A couple of weeks ago, my mom, baby brother and I registered for the inaugural Berkeley Half Marathon. It sounded like a good idea at the time, and I knew if I was registered for a race sometime soon (at the time), I’d get off my lazy butt and be more motivated.

That was true. However, the race was definitely not my best! My right calf acted up badly as well as my left ankle. I know why my right calf was tight (didn’t properly stretch, that was my bad). but I don’t know why my left ankle was hurting. I’d never, ever in my entire running “lifetime” (two years) have I had issues with my left ankle. I’ve had issues with my right ankle because I sprained it about 15 years ago, and it usually comes back to haunt me, but the left was something new.

Anyway, so here’s my short race recap in a nutshell:

With said injuries, there was a lot of walking during the Berkeley Half. I managed to catch up with my good friend, Christine, around mile 9 or so. We ran when we could, and walked when it was needed. We made it to the finish though! I came in around 3:30, which left me a bit disappointed but after a while, I was cool. I know what I did wrong and what needs to be improved on. MORE. STRETCHING. lol

On top of the walking and injuries, the course itself was not that great. The roads had nasty potholes and cracks – I spent a lot of time looking at the ground to make sure I didn’t get hurt anymore than I was! The weather was nice though. That’s about the only plus I can mention.

Inaugural Berkeley Half – November 24, 2013

I feel slightly setback on my marathon training because of my ankle injury, but I think I’ll be able to catch back up slowly but surely.

 

One thought on “Oakland Marathon Training – Week 1

Leave a Reply

