Back to Basics.

Hello, everyone!

I hope you all had a fabulous Christmas with your family and friends. I had a great time with my friends – food and alcohol. Oh, and my family, also. Can’t forget about them, right? 🙂

As I mentioned in the last post, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to defer my race or try to run it. I still haven’t made up my mind. But what I will probably do is loosely follow the training plan that I still have, and when it comes time to make my decision, I will do so. I have no idea what things will look like in March. We’ll just have to wait and see!

Since my last update, I have been slowly getting back onto my training grind.

My former lacrosse team had a scrimmage on December 21, Saturday. The team, which consists of all the new players plus all the veterans, comes together for some pick up lacrosse at one of the high schools. This lacrosse program started 10 years ago, and I was on the original team. Crazy, isn’t it?

Honestly, being out on the field brought back a rush of memories. I really want to play more often now! I hear the sportsplex near my house offers adult box lacrosse. Hmm… *ponders*

The Sunday after, I went out on a 10-mile bike ride. I went out on the trail by my house. The weather was super nice!

I was really enjoying the ride up until my turn around point. My muscle memory did not kick in and I actually fell over while trying to clip in! Luckily, my body fell into a pile of dirt. My body wasn’t too banged up, but I ended up with a bruise on my right arm cause that one broke my  fall. Unluckily, my right leg did not fall into a pile of dirt and instead got scraped up by pavement. Just a little road rash, along with some more bruises from my bike and the ground.

Overall, a good ride. I can say I have more battle scars. 🙂

Monday, on Christmas Eve Eve (Oh yea, I just typed that..), my running buddy Adrian and I went out for a 45-minute run. He brought me out to the Los Gatos Creek Trail. It was my first time running there, ever! I’m usually somewhere around the area often, but I finally had a chance to get a run in over there.

It was so awesome finally having a chance to run with my buddy.

Then, with the holidays on that Tuesday and Wednesday, I took the days off to enjoy time with family and whatnot.

I usually don’t feel guilty about eating or drinking during the holidays, but I felt like I ate and drank way too much. And that meant that a brick workout was needed as soon as possible….

And that is exactly what I did on the day after Christmas. Even though it took me a few hours to actually get my butt out of the house, I did the damn thing!

I can’t even describe how amazing my legs felt on that short run after my bike. Usually my legs are super heavy after a ride and transition to run, but I was able to get a pace a little bit faster than what I’ve been running normal.

I was pretty proud of myself for doing that brick workout. I’m going to need to incorporate them more often. I also need to get my swimming into the mix as well. I think I might need to invest in another gym membership. (So far, my only options are Club One or the Recreation Center in my town. We’ll see. They’re all expensive for me!)

The week went really well, in terms of getting back into the groove over everything. My ankle has been better, but I have also been running with a brace on it. I know I shouldn’t be running with it on all the time, but it makes the impact a little less painful. I think I’ll just have to try running without so I can make my ankle stronger. I definitely don’t want my ankle to rely on the brace!

I haven’t done much in the last few days, but that’s because I don’t want to burn myself out again. I’ll probably do some short 3- or 4-mile runs sometime this week. And we’ll see how that goes.

I hope everyone is going well! I’m about to turn in for the night. I’ll be doing a photoshoot (as the photographer) for my little cousin tomorrow… I think it’ll be a great day galavanting around the trails! (And possibly wishing I was running them… hehe)

Leave a Reply

