Weekly Training Recap: Dec. 30 – Jan. 5

Before I even get down to business about recapping the last week’s training, I wanted to share with all of you that I have decided to downgrade from the Oakland Marathon to the Oakland Half Marathon.

For my readers who have been around since November, you guys know that I’ve been trying to make a comeback from my ankle injury before Thanksgiving, and have been conflicted with my decision since then.

Even though the date to submit all requests to defer or downgrade isn’t until March, I’ve made the ultimate decision. I am satisfied, and I’d rather be safe than sorry, or even more injured, if I attempted this marathon. I would love to do a marathon sometime within this calendar year, but we’ll see how my training for Wildflower Triathlon goes.

With that said, I will still continue to train and will be updating you all with weekly summaries. I have decided to switch up my template a bit, and instead of doing the long, photo-heavy recaps, I’ll keep it short and simple with the weekly totals. I’ll also compare that to previous weeks should any data be available! 🙂

So here’s what the week of December 30 through January 5 looked like:

Running Mileage: 10.96 miles
Running Time: 2:52:44
Previous week: —-

Cycling Mileage: 14.64 miles
Cycling Time: 1:29:49
Previous week: —-

Notes:
– On 01/01, set goal of running 500 miles for the 2014 calendar year
– Started 30-day running challenge on 01/02 (Follow along on Instagram or Facebook)
– Brick workout with Fil-Am Triathlon Club on 01/04
– Three-day trail run streak from 01/03 to 01/05

I think this way a little bit better, because it still keeps me accountable while sharing my training with you. 🙂

I hope your week is going well! Take care, everyone!

Leave a Reply

