This Time Change Has Me Feeling Some Type of Way

Whew, it’s been a long while since I’ve touched upon this little blog of mine. How’s everyone doing?

I have the most invalid excuse as to why I haven’t worked out or done anything fitness related this week: Daylight Savings Time. I don’t know what it is, but I’ve been feeling super lethargic, somewhat unmotivated and allergies seem to be in full swing. Of course, the only allergy medicine that works for me is that little pink pill called Benadryl, and it seems to want to put me to sleep at any point in the day.

Long story short: I’ve been lazy, and probably still feeling the effects of my workouts from the last weekend.

There are about 7 weeks left until Tri-California EventsWildflower Weekend – the Woodstock of triathlons. I am pretty stoked. I finally registered for it about a week or so ago, and have been trying to keep up with my training as best as I can. My weekends are dedicated to long bike rides or runs on Saturdays, and usually a swim/run brick workout on Sunday. Weekdays I just do whatever I feel like doing, while at least hitting 50% of each discipline’s race distance. (Except this last week where I have been lazy.)

I swam in the ocean for the first time, two weeks ago. It was SO. MUCH. FUN. I used to be really nervous about swimming in this particular area (Aquatic Park in San Francisco, CA), because it always looked dark and what if there was a shark swimming underneath me? (cue the Jaws theme music)

Ultimately, I had to face my fears of ocean swimming, and got into that lovely 54-degree water. A bit nippy for me, and I couldn’t really feel my hands and feet for the most part. Thank you, Xterra wetsuit for keeping me buoyant and decently warm! lol My coach would have us swim from buoy to buoy, and then we’d finish up the swim portion of our workout by practicing sprints out of the water and mass starts.

So far we’ve done that twice, but hopefully we will get more swim training done. I’ve never been so comfortable in the water until now. Coach even mentioned last Sunday that we (his fiance and I) were going at a decent pace! That .98-mile swim will be nothing to us!

I’m hoping to be back into the swing of things this weekend, with some short runs. I am training on my own as Martin is coming down to visit to celebrate my birthday a little early.  Maybe I can drag him along. 🙂 I’ll probably be missing out on some team workouts but spending time with the Martin is just as important.

Here, I leave you with some recent photos from our training days…. Have a great weekend!

My longest, hardest & hilliest bike ride to date. 34-miles with a 1,550 elevation gain.

After a 1-mile swim in the Pacific, got a 10-mile run in along the Embarcadero in San Francisco.

 

One thought on “This Time Change Has Me Feeling Some Type of Way

Leave a Reply

