Signs You Live in a Household of Triathletes

I always see these types of lists on Buzzfeed, and I thought I would do a fun one of my own… I didn’t really have to ponder too hard, since they’re happening in my house on a daily basis. Read on to see what I’ve come up with!

1) There are so many race t-shirts. With a family of five, that means there can be up to five of the same race t-shirt rotating through the laundry. In my family, we also try to avoid matching each other, so we have to announce which shirt we’re racing so nobody else will put it on.

Christmas, 2010

Tip: Race t-shirts make for a great Christmas card theme. Sure, you might look like the Power Rangers, but you’ve earned the right to wear that shirt, so wear it proud! 🙂

2) There are more bikes in the garage than there is room for the car. Ok, not really. But there’s just way too many bikes, in general.

Bikes on bikes on bikes

3) You hang wet suits outside your house, or on a tree outside your house. It can be kind of creepy because they look like dead bodies flailing around in the wind.

Just hangin’ out…,

Tip: It might be weird, but sometimes I bring my wet suit into the shower with me so I can rinse it off from whatever water I’d swam in that day. Most times, they get hung up as above and sprayed down with the hose….

4) You always have someone to train with. Regardless of when your A-race is, chances are, your training schedule overlaps with someone else’s training schedule. Even if you are at different skill levels, you can still tailor the workout to your individual needs. I’m one of the slower athletes in my family, and sometimes the last person to finish my training. But the perk of being last is that everyone cheers for you when you come in. It’s like being in your own race. 🙂

Playground fun after a training run

5) Your family has “staple” races that you do every year or every other year. These are races that everyone participates in. In my family, our staple race is actually a local running race, the SV Turkey Trot. We’ve been running this as a family since 2010, and everyone has the option of running the 5k or 10k. Once upon a time, we were doing non-competitive triathlons (Tri-4-Fun races) annually, but since most of us have “graduated” onto longer triathlon distances, we’ve decided that the Turkey Trot was our big family event for now. (The Turkey Trot benefits the Second Harvest Food bank, so there is a win/win for everyone there!)

2013 SV Turkey Trot

Tip: Running local is a great way to support your local businesses and community while staying active as a family. You can find local events online, through your parks and recreation department, or even at the bulletin boards at Starbucks, Whole Foods, etc.

6) If you aren’t racing, you’re volunteering. There may be multiple reasons why you aren’t racing but that doesn’t mean you can’t join in on the fun! Volunteering at a race lets you see the “other side” of racing, and seeing how much hard work gets put into the event that you’re doing. (Most times, there’s perks for volunteers such as a free lunch, or 50% off a future race event!)

I was about to clean up my water station when a friend snapped this goofy photo of my parents and me!

So there you have it. Signs you live in a household of triathletes. I had a lot of fun putting this list together, as well as looking up the perfect photos to go with it. It was a trip down memory lane and I can’t wait to see what is in the future for this family.

Do you have something to add to this list? Please share in the comments below! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Signs You Live in a Household of Triathletes

Leave a Reply

